You are here

Niwa-Takayanagi Prize jointly awarded to Insight’s Alan Smeaton

The Niwa-Takayanagi Best Paper Prize is awarded by the Institute of Image Information and Television Engineers (ITE) in Japan to those who have made outstanding achievements in the field of video information media and in promoting basic research in this field.

Since 1961, the award is given annually to a paper published in the ITE Transactions on Media Technology and Applications.

The 57th Niwa-Takayanagi award is given to George Awad (Dakota Consulting, Inc; NIST), Cees G.M Snoek (University of Amsterdam), Alan F. Smeaton (Insight, Dublin City University) and Georges Quénot (Univ. Grenoble Alpes) for their paper entitled "TRECVid Semantic Indexing: a 6-Year Retrospective”, published in 2016.  The paper describes progress made in the annual TRECVid benchmarking activity, which the paper authors coordinate and which Alan Smeaton co-founded, in automatically analysing video and describing its content.

This is the first time in more than 50 years that the Niwa-Takayanagi award has been made to authors outside of Japan.

The award is named after Yasujiro Niwa and Kenjiro Takayanagi.  Niwa was the first president of the ITE, and Takayanagi was a Japanese engineer and a pioneer in the development of television who built the world's first all-electronic television receiver which

he demonstrated on Christmas Day, 1926.